top of page

Our History

Drysdale Football Club Since 1879

Drysdale Football Club

The Drysdale Football Club was first formed in 1879 when, as reported in the Geelong Advertiser, a team played the Chilwell 2nds on Saturday the 14th June. The side, captained by Cuddy, was unfortunately defeated six goals to two. Other games followed that year against East Geelong, Artillery, & Wanderers, with a draw against Artillery the best result.

Early games were played at a ground behind the hotel known as The Buck’s Head. This was also the location of the race-track & the ground was most likely in the centre of this.

In 1900 The Bellarine Football Competition was formed with games previous to that being by invitation only. Drysdale, Portarlington, & Queenscliff were the inaugural teams with Military joining some years later. The clubs first premiership came in 1903 with an impressive marble clock being awarded to the victors. The clock can still be seen in the clubrooms today.

The club colours have changed many times over the years with membership tickets giving us the best indication of early colour combinations. The club has in it’s possession a maroon & gold ticket from 1891, a blue & white ticket from 1912, & a red & white ticket from 1935.


The club continued to wear white jumpers with a red sash until 1948 when new jumpers were urgently required but these colours were unavailable. The brown jumper with gold collar & cuffs was adopted & worn until 1978 when brown & gold vertical stripes were chosen for financial reasons. The final change came in 2005 when the club reverted back to the 1948 design of brown jumpers with a gold vee.

Throughout it’s history the Drysdale Football Club has played in several different competitions experiencing much success resulting in thirteen senior, five reserves, four under 18, five under 16, & six under 13 premierships.


Our Premiership Success

For a more detailed analysis of Drysdales premierships & the competitions played in please see the table below.

1900 Bellarine Football Competition
1903 Premiers
1926 Geelong Athletics Societies League – Premiers defeating Barrabool
1928 Premiers defeating St. Mary’s
1932 Geelong Sub-District League
1935 Premiers defeating Nth. Geelong
1955 Jarman Cup Section – Premiers defeating Torquay
1962 Premiers defeating Lara
1963 Woolworth Cup Section – Premiers defeating Lara
1966 Premiers defeating Ocean Grove
1969 Premiers defeating St. Albans
1970 Premiers defeating St. Albans
1971 Bellarine & District Football League
1976 Premiers defeating Torquay
1977 Premiers defeating Queenscliff
1985 Premiers defeating Leopold
2009 Premiers deafeating Geelong Amateur
2010 Premiers defeating Geelong Amateur

Grand Final 11.jpg

Women's Football

The Drysdale Football Club has a long and proud history, and is known for being a progressive and pioneering club of female football in the Geelong and Bellarine regions. Drysdale Football Club fielded its first all-female team in 2010 competing in the Youth Girls competition. In 2015, the Drysdale Football program was one of just three Clubs in the first Junior Girls U12 league. Exciting times preceded this in 2017, being the first Club on the Bellarine to field a Senior Women’s Team playing in the Ballarat Goldfields league. As the Senior Women progressed in 2018, female teams took to the field in Senior Women’s, U15’s & U12 in AFL Barwon competitions. With the growth and development of junior female football across the Bellarine, female football was strengthened by combining junior players across communities to establish the Peninsula Sharks U18 side.

Drysdale Senior Women’s team has continued to grow from strength to strength in 2023, fielding a Senior Women’s side for its sixth consecutive year. Through its strong reputation for being an inclusive and family friendly Club, the Drysdale Women’s Football team continues to attracted players with experience and embrace women and girls new to the game.

Leading into 2024, for the first time, the Drysdale Senior Women’s team is being led by an all-female support team, including female coaching staff, trainers and coordinator. The Senior Women’s team are excited and proud to continue to lead and advocate for women playing football across the Bellarine Peninsula and support the growth and development of the Peninsula Sharks Junior Female Football Club.

Screen Shot 2023-12-02 at 11.35.56 am.png

VFL/AFL/AFLW Representatives

Notable VFL/AFL/AFLW players to have come from Drysdale Football Club include:

- Dick Grigg (1904-14 / 1921) for Geelong (194 games)

- Billy Wilton (1908-09 / 1914) for Geelong (20 games)

- Norman Grigg (1911) for Geelong (4 games)

- Tom Stapleton (1933-35) for Geelong (6 games)

- Jacky Butcher (1938-41 / 44-45) for Geelong (86 games)

- Jacky Butcher (1942-43) for South Melbourne (32 games)

- Russ Renfrey (1946-56) for Geelong (201 games)

- Bernie Crowe (1954) for Geelong (9 games)

- Rex Deeath (1974-75) for Geelong (13 games)

- Adam Richardson (2001) for Adelaide (2 games)

- Tom Ruggles (2016-17) for Geelong (22 games)

- Connor Idun (2019-current) for GWS Giants

- Tess Craven (2021-current) for North Melbourne

Screen Shot 2024-01-12 at 8.56.44 pm.png
bottom of page