top of page

About DFC

Home of the Hawks

Drysdale Football Club

The Drysdale Football Club is an Australian Rules Football Club, located in the township of Drysdale, Victoria.

The home of the Drysdale Football Club is Mortimer Oval, but is also affectionately known as the "Hawks Nest".


The club plays in the AFL Barwon competitions, and is apart of the Bellarine Football League (BFL). The club has junior teams ranging from U9-18s, along with senior and reserves men's sides, and a senior women's team.

Notable VFL/AFL/AFLW players to have come from Drysdale Football Club include:

- Dick Grigg (1904-14 / 1921) for Geelong (194 games)

- Billy Wilton (1908-09 / 1914) for Geelong (20 games)

- Norman Grigg (1911) for Geelong (4 games)

- Tom Stapleton (1933-35) for Geelong (6 games)

- Jacky Butcher (1938-41 / 44-45) for Geelong (86 games)

- Jacky Butcher (1942-43) for South Melbourne (32 games)

- Russ Renfrey (1946-56) for Geelong (201 games)

- Bernie Crowe (1954) for Geelong (9 games)

- Rex Deeath (1974-75) for Geelong (13 games)

- Adam Richardson (2001) for Adelaide (2 games)

- Tom Ruggles (2016-17) for Geelong (22 games)

- Connor Idun (2019-current) for GWS Giants

- Tess Craven (2021-current) for North Melbourne

bottom of page